Beginners Journey

bilbo56

Reaction score
Hi Fellow Beginners, how’s your journey progressing?

I’ve only had my Uke for 2 months and have to keep reminding myself that this will be a lifelong journey. I’m still working full time but will retire this year. This limits my practice time during the week.

I’ve picked up the usual accessories such as tuners and humidity solutions. Also purchased several books, but most are over my ability, with the exception of “The Daily Ukulele”.

I took James Hill’s Ready Steady Ukulele and Booster Uke courses, and Uncle Rod’s Boot Camp. My main focus now is getting muscle memory and learning (memorizing) chords. So far, I haven’t found any instructors or groups in my area.

At this point should I just start learning songs and strumming techniques, I'm not a singer? How about you, where has your path led?

I got a ukulele in early April of 2021, so I'm a little further into it, 10 months into it. I am also self taught with YouTube to get started. I have a few more years until retirement, but I've found I can practice left hand if I strum or fingerpick very lightly while we watch TV in the evenings without driving my wife too crazy, so I've made decent progress with chord progressions, not as much with interesting right hand technique or lyrics. I'll even try to find keys and chords that work with soundtracks to movies while we watch. My goal for 2022 is to learn (memorize) several songs, maybe a dozen including lyrics. I'd like to add a half dozen Christmas songs maybe starting at the end of summer.

On a few weekends this past year I recorded myself, I would like to make that more regular in 2022, maybe just 5 min of one song every other week, but it's helpful for me to hear myself from an "audience" point of view.

I would never discourage anyone from getting an instructor, even online by zoom or whatever. I bet that would speed progress a bunch. That is not in my personal plans yet, but maybe I'll add it at some point.