Kala U Bass should it be considered as a Ukulele

I love my ubass because it it small. Using it for recording through some minor effects serious bass players can’t believe it’s not a bass.

I started playing ukulele because it was smaller than a guitar; I play baritone and tenor.

So, call it what you will. I call it a really nice sound if amped and recorded correctly. I play acoustic ubass with electronics and solid body ubass with electronics. Lov ‘em.

I love the rubbery strings because they do a good job of approximating a stand up.

There are other kinds of strings that ubass players use, including some metal strings, flatwounds, round wounds, hybrids.

I know a well known bass player who plays uke because it’s a lot easier to carry around a uke.

Bonnie Raiit’s bass player uses a ubass.

The ukulele is the only stringed instrument I have ever played, so if I can play it...then it is a ukulele. I would just down-tune the 2 treble strings a half step and get EAC#F# and then all my ukulele chord shapes will work. So, yeah, I'd consider it a uke, albeit not a uke with that traditional timbre of a guitar being plucked between the bridge and the tail-piece. But a uke nonetheless.