Who's not played a Kamaka soprano?

Yes, I agree, that's one of the basic truths in the ukulele world.

I agree so much so I bought a Kamaka pineapple a few years back.

Last edited:
If you've not played a Kamaka soprano and you are a soprano player. You should check it out.
Old, or newer?

My 1st uke 14 years ago was an inherited 50s/60s gold label Kamaka soprano (in my avatar). It seemed a bit of a primitive build, with hand tooling marks in various places. I've heard they made lots of these, with many being sold to visiting tourists, like my world traveling Aunt, who gifted it to me much later, me being the only musical one in the family. As I remember, it sounded good, but not great, but I was a total noob, so what did I know? Later sold it to a local guy and UU'er.

The newer ones look great, much more refined, and I expect they play/sound better too....is that right?

Last edited:
Reactions: EDW
I haven't played a Kamaka soprano yet. If I run into one, I'll be sure to try it out, but I don't dream of owning one.

I don't want to be a party pooper but I did play a Kamaka soprano, about ten years or twelve years ago. It was on offer at a very good price. The seller let me take it away, on approval, to see if I bonded with it. I didn't. I had it for a few days then returned it.

I now own a beautiful KoAloha which cost nearly twice as much (second hand) as that Kamaka. The KoAloha is my favourite ukulele.