Missing Soprano

Wow only just seen this post, I can't believe this instrument went back into circulation ?

I was the original owner who returned it back to Ken Timms after I highlighted the error on the fret markers.
Ken did replace the instrument for me and I am happy with the Cuban mahogany Soprano I now have.

Just a note, you won't need a serial number to identify that one. The fret markers were way off, not an OCD thing on my part, although I am an engineer and like things to be correct but a blind man on a fast horse would notice it.

Wow only just seen this post, I can't believe this instrument went back into circulation ?

I was the original owner who returned it back to Ken Timms after I highlighted the error on the fret markers.
Ken did replace the instrument for me and I am happy with the Cuban mahogany Soprano I now have.

Just a note, you won't need a serial number to identify that one. The fret markers were way off, not an OCD thing on my part, although I am an engineer and like things to be correct but a blind man on a fast horse would notice it.

I‘m kind of surprised that anyone would make those comments about Ken’s work, but pleased for you that you can afford one of his Ukes and that you got a replacement that you’re happy with. Is the fret marker clearly out? Well I just looked at the old listing on eBay and from the first photo any bidder could see that the fret marker positions - particularly the tenth - are suspect and decide whether or not be wait for another Timms to bid on - maybe some bidders did. As they say ‘one man’s meat is another man’s poison’. I’m with you in wanting things to be as perfect as is humanly possible - maybe I’m obsessive about some stuff - but someone else wouldn’t be at all concerned about some cosmetic detail and actually value it’s individuality. There’s a lot to be said for embracing imperfection and rolling with what you’re fortunate enough to have … I might remind my Mrs of that later 😁.

Last edited: