Why are people so afraid of Music Theory?

The issue is not fear. It’s the lack of a compelling, practical explanation of why and how music theory can/ will benefit me. As a high school student, I unknowingly needed precisely the same in regard to history. I’ve since learned the value of studying history on my own. As a result, I now thoroughly enjoy history.
For me, the biggest benefit that comes from knowing music theory and how to read music notation is that my repertoire is never limited to just the tunes I already know. There is a vast amount of amazing music in our world, and one can comfortably access any or all of it, if they know some basic theory and can read music. Personally, I have found the price of admission to that wonderful world of music to be well worth it. YMMV :)

Many ukulele teachers are just really poor at teaching theory. Others teach to the lowest common denominator in a classroom, which really holds back the more curious students.

When I was a lad, my wind teacher was actually excited when I asked questions that were theory-based. It was nothing deep. I remember it as playing Greensleeves but wondering why the key signature said to play Bb but inside the song the B's were natural. Then my teacher could talk about stuff like keys.

And I guess that's why I have always enjoyed theory. For me music is an intellectual pursuit as well as physical/performative. Just as some people are gossips and want to know everything that's happening in their job/school/whatever, I want to know the inside scoop of music. My basic question is essentially "why?" and theory provides an answer. I don't always agree with the answer but at least theory engages my query.

I am in no way proud of my ignorance. I dislike being ignorant. But music theory confuses me very quickly, beyond the very 101 basics. I haven't the time nor the desire to dive deeply into it.
Now, maybe if I were 22 instead of 72.....