Book for 4 year old?

oceanjaws

Reaction score
Hi people of the underground.
This is my first post on here.
I'm a guitar teacher, who has agreed to teach uke to a 4 year old.
I understand that is very young, but if I take it easy it could be lots of fun.
I was wondering if anyone out there had suggestions for a good book for someone so very young.
Perhaps with simple songs like row your boat.
I think it will take her a while to strum a simple chord like C before she gets to three finger things like G.
Any help very much appreciated.
Brian.

Looks like a great book!
not available in the UK though.
I should have said I'm in England!!
:eek:

Last edited:
Oceanjaws,
Bless you for wanting to teach this child. It will open up a whole new world for her. As you probably know, it will help her with her mathematics (someday), her hand-eye coordination, and enhance her creativity. And you will probably have a friend for life.

I'm trying to teach my 8 and 9 year old sons right now. I'm taking it easy and slowly. I don't want them to feel pressured and lose interest, but at the same time I don't want to go too slow and bore them away. They both know C, F, G, D, and Am right now. At least, they know which frets and strings to put their fingers on, but they're still having trouble getting the fretted strings to sound. We're using a soprano, but even so, my kids are small like me and they're having some reach issues. As far as books, I'm using the little book that came with my Flea and some old folk song books and children's songs books that are actually geared more for guitar, but I think they'll work o.k.

Hey Stan.
That's great, actually.
The nursery rhymes I can write out either as written music (in BIG font) or just teach her to sing and play some of the simpler ones with just the C chord.
That will be a great introduction to playing and singing.
Many thanks.

Brian.