Recent content by FatherMother

1. F

Is music your vocation/ career?

My day job is teaching voice and ukulele lessons. Up until covid, I was also leading a small ukulele ensemble and conducting a choir. I am a professional singer, too, mostly in classical and experimental music. Have undergraduate and graduate degrees in vocal performance. Only started...
  2. F

2022 Los Angeles International Ukulele Festival

Mitch, The festival was so much fun, and I am sad that I have to wait another whole year before the next one. This was my second time, 2019 being the first. I love the workshops where I get to have my ukulele in hand and learn and play. I attended John Atkins, Abe Lagrimas, and Neal Chin's...
  3. F

I have my ticket! Now I need to decide which ukulele to bring.
  4. F

I've been eagerly awaiting this since the last one in 2019. I'll be there!
  5. F

At what age did you get your first uke?

39! I'm soon to turn 44 and I have 5 ukuleles now, so that averages 1 uku per year. Background: started voice lessons at 15 or 16, went on to get a Bachelor's and Master's degree in classical vocal performance. Professional singer and busy teacher. Picked up ukulele on a whim in 2017...
  6. F

Oasis humidifier

Hi! I am going to respond to my own reply above since some folks might end up on this thread looking for information on Oasis humidifiers. I checked on my two humidifiers again and, like before, the blue one had shriveled while the khaki one stayed nice and plump. Looking inside, I could see...
  7. F

Oasis humidifier

Has anyone used the Ukulele Plus+ humidifier for humidification in extremely dry conditions? I have both that one and the original blue one, and the Plus+ doesn't shrink :/ I've swapped the two to check if it was the ukulele and case conditions causing the blue to shrink, but not the other...
  8. F

Buying From Sweetwater