Recent content by McCall

1. McCall

Muting Question

Hello, I’m trying to learn the song On the Sunny Side of the Street from a video by Cynthia Lin (see the video link below) and I have a question. The part that I can’t figure out is how she is getting the muting effect on her chords during the verse part of the song (for reference listen from...
  2. McCall

Sitting position when playing a soprano

Hello, I’m not sure if anyone would be able to answer this question, but I thought I’d give it a try. When I play my soprano, I’ve always sat down and used my strumming forearm to pin the uke against my chest. But lately I’ve seen some videos of professional level uke players sometimes sitting...
  3. McCall

Does switching between different sizes of Ukes slow progress?

Hello, I’ve been playing for almost two years now, and I’m trying to improve as much as I can. I regularly play two sizes, Tenor and Soprano, and I was wondering if splitting up my practice time between different sizes might slow my overall progress. I enjoy playing both sizes but wonder if I’d...
  4. McCall

Chord Change Question

Hello, I’ve been having trouble with a particular chord change for a while now and haven’t been able to figure it out so I thought I’d ask the experts. The chord change I’m talking about is E minor (0432) to B7 (4320). As I lift my fingers off the first, second and third strings, to move them...
  5. McCall

Clawhammer Question

Hello, I’ve recently started to learn the very basics of Clawhammer Ukulele and have a question. When I use my index finger to play the melody note (the “Bum” in “Bum Ditty”) it’s fine on the C and E strings, but I have a problem on the A string. Right after my index finger hits the A string...
  6. McCall

Splitting Up My Practice Routine