Recent content by PhilUSAFRet

1. PhilUSAFRet

Anyone play Kalimba?

I have a kalimba key set I bought on ebay and a soprano ukulele kit body. Planning on installing the tines where the bridge goes and holding the body at the waste. Installing a pickup as well. Quite simple.
  2. PhilUSAFRet

Low G Baritone Strings (GCEA) Options?

Linear is gCEA
  3. PhilUSAFRet

Review:Aklot Solid Acacia Gloss Concert Ukulele

Your comments make me wonder how a low g would make it sound.
  4. PhilUSAFRet

SOLD: Blackbird Clara

Considering
  5. PhilUSAFRet

ukulele with no bracing or kerfling

Listened to a non-braced concert size pineapple uke. Gives some Romero's competition in loudness and tone (right up until the time the soundboard cracks?)
  6. PhilUSAFRet

Anyone ever use a Boss Super Octave OC-3 pedal

I can tell you the EHX Bass9 does very little for the 1st and 2nd strings of my ukes.
  7. PhilUSAFRet

Romero ST-Concert Penney Lane tuning

I got a Romero ST Concert with a laminate mahogany body and solid spruce top. It has the Romero low g tuning with wound low g. Sound is HUGE, and loud, otherwise sounds very good but I can't help wonder what it would sound like with high g tuning. Wonder what strings would sound best in the...
  8. PhilUSAFRet

Gloss dark mahogany, gloss concert with tortoise binding a' la Martin 1

Saw this selling in Europe. Available by another name? Another manufacturer making one similar? VTAB FL-C15 Concert Ukulele, Mahogany Gloss
  9. PhilUSAFRet

Behringer Synthesizer (TD-3-SR

Anyone use this to provide a bassline behind your uke playing. Won't be using a computer with it. https://www.behringer.com/product.html;jsessionid=59974AF8185BAE0C8231E892B127A966?modelCode=P0DTD
  10. PhilUSAFRet

Strings Ukulele String Comparisons Spreadsheet

It's 6 years later...……...thank you, just what I needed. Updated version?
  11. PhilUSAFRet

Easier E Major???