Best string brand for beginner???

stephenjm

Reaction score
Hello,
I just started playing the ukulele I have a Kala tenor. Was wondering what is the
easiest, best sounding, brand of string for a beginner to play on?
Thank you,
Stephen

Hi stephenjm,

This is a subject that is almost continuous on this forum. You can search all kinds of info here to answer the question, and you will get as may opinions as you get posters.

IMO, a beginner needs a good setup to enjoy playing and practicing. After the setup, comes the type of string and the tension. If you're interested in tension, you can check out
Good luck

The strings that a new uke is equipped with are generally the best for that uke, especially for beginners. Once you have played so much that you wore out one of the original strings and it needs replacement, you also have developed enough awareness of your preferences to think about if you want to try different strings. As a beginner it is important to focus on playing and distractions like thinking about strings can be detrimental.

Strings are one of those things where you can't really be sure about them until you've tried them. The strings that came on your Kala tenor are very likely to be Aquila strings. To me, Aquila strings sound kind of dull and muddy and I didn't like the feel of them. Through trials of other strings I found I didn't like nylon strings at all. I like the brighter sound and softer feel (lower tension? more flexible?) of a fluorocarbon string and would recommend Martin or Oasis strings as a safe bet.

Last edited: