Search results

1. BlackBearUkes

So many gems

That was fun to watch. Having made 8 violins myself when I was a pro luthier, I recognize all the gouges, scrapes, gauges and different tools involved in violin making. While the video shows much of the techniques in using the tools, all the reasons, measurements, etc. are missing, but of course...
  2. BlackBearUkes

I am doing things wrong again?

My experience has been, the people who making a living playing and writing music, don't care about instruments with a lot of bling or are overly expensive, they care about sound and quality built. Plus, who wants to travel with a $15000 guitar. Although, I have to admit, some classical guitars...
  3. BlackBearUkes

Repairing lifted bridge Amahi

As suggested, remove the bridge, clean off all the old glue from the top and bridge, use Titebond red cap glue, clamp, clean up the side and let it cure one day and you're good to go.
  4. BlackBearUkes

FS: New Concert Mango Uke by Black Bear

SOLD This is a new concert size uke made of wormy Mango with great colored wood with some figure. This Mango is well seasoned, over 30 years. Although the mango does have worm holes, there are no worms, very unique looking wood. The neck is also made of the same Mango and does have a truss rod...
  5. BlackBearUkes

FS: New Concert Macadamia Wood uke by Black Bear

This is a new concert size uke made of solid Macadamia wood for the body. This beautiful wood has lots of sparkle and figure. It is well seasoned, at least 21 years, and is quarter-sawn for maximum strength and sound. The neck is Mango wood with a truss rod. Bolivian rosewood fingerboard and...
  6. BlackBearUkes

FS: New Soprano Russian Olive Wood Uke by Black Bear