Search results

1. T

Using CNC To Build Ukuleles - Good or Bad?

I'll agree the CNC end takes a lot of work, for me at least. The software I'm using is rather primitive, requiring a fair bit of testing and adjusting with scrap wood before I'm willing to stick my good wood under the cutter. But it's part of the path I've chosen for my own work flow. If I was...
  2. T

Build thread: baritone scale kiku

I've lagged a bit on the kiku project, letting some other non-musical woodcraft projects divert my attention, but it's inching toward completion. I'd hoped to have it done by the end of October, but it's looking like that date is pushed back a bit.
  3. T

Using CNC To Build Ukuleles - Good or Bad?

As a hobbyist, I've used a cheap desktop CNC to do a few things like cut peghead routing templates, wood inlay pieces, and bridges. It did some of those things with more precision than my meager skills are capable of producing, especially cutting saddle slots. As I build ukes to satisfy my own...
  4. T

Parallel builds

A newly bent tenor ukulele side cooling in the building form, with its mate next to it and the nearly finished kiku in the background.
  5. T

What's happening in your shed?

One of the projects I've been working on this week is a portable Moxon vise for my shop. All of the wood came from scraps I've had in storage for the better part of two decades.
  6. T

I'll be spending much of this gloomy Friday cleaning my little basement shop. I've been working on several concurrent projects, and the room is in a bit of a state, to say the least.
  7. T

I've got the TAS again

Yep, I have a Delta scroll saw gathering dust under my workbench. My small Craftsman bench top bandsaw does fine for small stuff like cutting plates, and my larger Shopsmith bandsaw does duty for cuts requiring a bit more Ooomph.
  8. T