Search results

1. PereBourik

Geared tuners for Flea

Has anyone tried Graphtec tuners on a Flea? I'm tired of of the stock friction friction tuners. $30 for a set seems pretty reasonable. The base of the tuner looks like it might be wider than the Flea headstock. That's the one dimension I don't find on their webpage. If you don't like the...
  2. PereBourik

Play Music on the Porch Day

It’s international. It’s on Facebook. It’s today. Who else is in?
  3. PereBourik

String Choices & Familiarity

Any of you gone back & forth on string choices? When I started playing 6 years ago I developed a strong preference for flourocarbon strings, first Martin M600, then branching out to Worth, Oasis, and Living Water. I tried Aquila and a few choices in nylon strings, including the D'Addario...
  4. PereBourik

NUD - Beau Hannam Tenor - Redwood and Koa - Camino Inlay

This is a wonderful instrument. The build quality and design are at the highest level. I am impressed with the tone. Each string rings true. The intonation is spot on. Working with the builder, Beau Hannam was very interactive and cooperative. He brings a high level of artistic imagination to...
  5. PereBourik

Focus

I often lose focus on a piece while playing it. Then, when I play it again to smoothe out the prior mistakes it just gets worse. How have you learned to get focused and stay focused while playing?
  6. PereBourik

What's your player?

I have six pretty good ukes to play at home. None of them is easier to grab than any of the others. Yet when I can't make up my mind which to play I always grab the Imua concert. I don't know why, but it's my player. Which uku do you grab most often?
  7. PereBourik

PhD Strings How long to settle?

I've just put on my first set of PhD Strings. How long do they take to settle? Low G concert.
  8. PereBourik

Blackbird Clara Group

Are there enough of us Clara players out here to start a group?
  9. PereBourik

String differences