Search results

1. Kenn2018

Hello from Seattle

One of the ways I learned was to take some chords, like G - B7 - F - Em - G7 - C and just practice changes. Mixing them up. You can sit and watch TV while you do it. Just fingering them while muting the strings. Over and over. Don't forget, you only have to press enough to get clean notes. You...
  2. Kenn2018

Hello from Seattle

Hi flyingroc, welcome to the UU Forum. My wife hopes to get back to Manila in January to visit her family. I strum my ukes to primarily back my singing. The trick is to ingrain the strums to the point where you no longer have to think about them as you play. I quite like ukuleletricks.com/ and...
  3. Kenn2018

Effect of lowering string action on tone / volume?

I have no experience with soprano ukes, so I can't comment on the affect it will have on your model. I did have an Ohana TK-50G that I bought from a local music store. The strings were very high and hard to Barre chords on the first 3 frets. (1.5 mm at the 1st, and 3.5mm at the 12th.) I had the...
  4. Kenn2018

Pono vs Koolau

Well said. I agree 100%. I have a 2017 Pono RTS(C)-PC Spruce/Rosewood cutaway tenor that I purchased from TUS. Lovely sound with Living Waters Low-G strings. Very chimey, bell like. Good projection. Pono undersaddle passive pickup is excellent. High gloss finish. Great looking. I quite enjoy...
  5. Kenn2018

Observations after a day of driving around playing different baritones

Mim carried a few baris for a while. I seem to recall her posting on her site a few years ago that she was dropping them because they din't sell very well and her space was too limited to inventory them. She may have said she would special order one if asked. Check with her. I may be...
  6. Kenn2018

Tips to Relax While Playing