Search results

1. ktuurna

Little break makes good!

I have been building ukuleles since 2016. Last spring I graduated as a luthier from the Ikaalinen College of Arts and Crafts. And guess what? I haven't built one since. There are a couple of reasons for that. The conditions in my workshop are a bit too humid in the summer and I wanted to take a...
  2. ktuurna

Almost scientific research, but not

This week I take four sopranos to our luthier school and try to research their differences by metering. I have one Martin S0 from -62, one diligently played Mexican made Martin S1 from 5 years ago, one Ken Timms cuban mahogany that I bought about year and half ago. For comparison I have also 3...
  3. ktuurna

Double back ukulele

German master luthier Tom Ziegenspeck has developed interesting construction. "This ukulele has a double back, which creates a tonal advantage. As a master plucking instrument maker, I can confirm that, especially with ukuleles, the back is an area which very little, if not at all, resonates...
  4. ktuurna

New tool of the day

I don't have too much space in my workshop. Every time when I need my go bar deck I have to lift it to a different table and run around the table while I work. Not any more!
  5. ktuurna

Useful tools

I made this troji. It helps when scraping and sanding sides. and I found these dentist tools from flea market. Very useful for cleaning glue etc. Mirror is handful when investigating inside instrument. I love to see how braces are made when I see new ukulele. I ordered one reasonable priced...
  6. ktuurna

Fret size

What size frets do you use in tenor ukes? I bought 3 years ago Anuenue Moon Bird tenor, and it has pretty fat braces. I like them a lot. They are very nice to play. I have use them too when I build tenors. I think I will use them in concert size too. What do you think fat frets? Yes or no and why?
  7. ktuurna

Resonator uke