Search results

1. SleepyheadRooster

Looks like Eastman ukes are back

I remember when Eastman acoustic guitars came out many years ago. In the early days they had some significant quality issues mostly due to finishes cracking and flaking off. But they solved those problems. Since then their quality seems to just keep getting better. I teach with a very basic...
  2. SleepyheadRooster

Pending Lattice braced Rosewood and Torrified Spruce Tenor

I’ll buy it. 😀 PM on the way.
  3. SleepyheadRooster

Kamaka Factory Repair/Restoration Reviews

Interesting. I’m more guitarist. I know people love vintage, but I think the Nazareth, PA Martin line is as good or better than ever. I own three wonderful USA Martin guitars made in the last 20 years, and I have no interest in paying a premium for vintage. But I have no experience with...
  4. SleepyheadRooster

Kamaka Factory Repair/Restoration Reviews

This is so frustrating. I had a local luthier (I won’t name) who has a great reputation reset the neck on a cherished Martin guitar. When I arrived to pick it up, the strings were rattling against the fretboard. He had to keep the guitar another week to fix it. But it was completely unacceptable...
  5. SleepyheadRooster

Zager guitar objective review

Thanks for your review and willingness to give the guitar a chance. However, I have a couple observations. “Strings are .008 - .042 i.e extra light” That’s not normal for an acoustic guitar. In fact, those strings are light even by most electric guitarists’ standards. I simply don’t believe...
  6. SleepyheadRooster

No longer available Pono Kalele Mahogany Baritone for tenor

Sorry. I ended up keeping this because I had a student contact me about baritone lessons. Lessons are going well, and for now I’m not planning to sell or trade it.
  7. SleepyheadRooster

How many ukuleles are too many ukuleles?

I love that the thread currently following this one in Uke Talk is titled “Quadruple New Uke Day”. The Universe is in tune.