"Avoid The Gap" -- ????

tm3

Reaction score
I just did James Hill's "Ready, Steady, Ukulele" course and while I'm not a rank beginner (close, but not quite) I learned enough to find it well worth the princely sum of $1 that I paid for it. In discussing buying one's first ukulele, he made what I thought was an interesting comment.

He advised buying the best uke one can afford (I've heard that before), but is of the opinion that one should avoid the "gap" in the market which he defines as the difference between the highest priced entry instruments (about $300-400) and the lowest priced high end instruments (about $800). He goes on to say that a $500 uke is not that much better than a $300 uke and a large difference won't be seen until entering the high end of the market.

As an owner of a $100-ish uke I certainly can't speak from experience but I had assumed based on what I've heard that the biggest jump in quality comes between the entry level and the mid level, with the high end not that huge a jump from the mid.

Anyway I realize that we are not dealing in absolutes, kind of like chocolate vs. vanilla, but am curious how others feel about it.

I would say there is a massive difference between entry level instruments and Hawaiian-made K family ukes. That said, I think once you get into the high end models, I feel the law of diminishing returns takes hold pretty quick. A top dollar Kamaka will have prettier flames and inlays, but is not necessarily a better built or better sounding instrument than a standard Kamaka.

I would say there is a massive difference between entry level instruments and Hawaiian-made K family ukes. That said, I think once you get into the high end models, I feel the law of diminishing returns takes hold pretty quick. A top dollar Kamaka will have prettier flames and inlays, but is not necessarily a better built or better sounding instrument than a standard Kamaka.