Considering Hobby Build, Questions on Tools

don_b

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm considering building a Stew Mac concert. My tendonitis has been getting worse and worse and if its going to stay with me, and I have to play less, then I need some other way to interact with this instrument. So I'm looking into the Stew Mac. Problem is, I dont have any of the tools listed in their documentation. Id have to build a little shop in the basement and purchase the tools. I am generally fine with that, but only if I can build like 2-3 ukes a year because while the cost of the kit is under $100, the tools are like $600ish combined. I wouldnt want to make that investment to build like 1 uke per year or something. I generally have no idea how many hours it takes. Id have maybe 4-8 hrs a week to build. And I'm a noob. But I am capable, I'm the one who finished the basement in the videos I post where I'm playing songs in the playroom. So just looking for some feedback I guess on the time commitment, feasibility of outputting multiple ukes per year, etc. If I go for it I'm going to start purchasing tools in Jan.

Thanks!

I had a look at the kit tool list, and there weren't any expensive items on there, I couldn't get it to add up to 600 if I tried. Many of the tools on the list are generic tools e.g. a flat file, measuring tape, drill, hammer, clamps etc. They don't need to be luthier specific and from the stewmac catalogue, or even new. You can pick a lot of them up from auction sites for nearly no money. But you should be able to get started for a lot less than 600 dollars with a kit.

I haven't built from a kit so couldn't tell you how long it takes. A non-kit instrument I would reckon on 100 hours as a minimum. Remember it can take as long to finish and set up and instrument as it does to build it. That is true of a kit or not.