Impressions of One on One Lessons

ailevin

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
I posted in the "What did you do today" thread that I took my first in person ukulele lesson yesterday. UUer rainbow21 suggested that I post my impressions compared to other resources I am using or may use. The beginner's forum seems like the right place and I thought I should start with a little background.

I am new here and I am a ukulele beginner, but, I am not new to music. I studied violin for many years starting when I sas six and continuing into my early twenties. In my teens and twenties, I did some solo recitals, and played in orchestras and chamber groups that performed regularly. I met many of my oldest and dearest friends playing music. I read music (treble clef only) and in my day was good sight reader, I can tell when things are in and out of tune, I have a reasonably good sense of intervals and rhythm. However, I have never studied music theory, nor do I have the ear training that many pro and semi-pro musicians acquire without the formal training. Tabs, chord progressions, strumming, picking, singing while playing are new and foreign. I tend to think in melodic lines or to some extent in multiple voices. I recognize changes and modulation, but I don't really understand them. I am now in my early 70s, and rarely pick up the violin. Every couple of years I attempt to get back in shape., but I end up more frustrated than satisfied with the result.