Missing my Hawaii home...

RuckMonkey

Hi all. I'm a novice guitar player and Pacific Islander by blood. I lived on Oahu for the past couple of years but recently moved to Japan and now I'm dreadfully missing the sun, surf, and poke.

I always loved the sound of a uke and while I was in Hawaii I fell even more in love with it. One of my friends would play his uke occassionally while we worked on our scooters in his garage and it was great. Nothing better than sitting around drinking a beer and listening to a friend strum out a tune.

Now that I've been away from Hawaii for a year my heart keeps pulling me back and since the surf is WAY too cold here in Northern Japan, I'm just going to have to get myself a uke to think of home.

Currently I'm looking into the Lanikai SM-CE Custom Series Spalted Mango Soprano and some of the KoAlohas. I haven't found anyone on here yet who has one of the model of Lanikai I'm interested in, but, I haven't had much time to really start diggin in yet.

I'll keep you posted as I finally get myself a sweet uke setup! :D

**edit**
I'm a terribly impatient person, so I just pulled the trigger and got myself Makala MK-C beginner package from Hawaii Music Supply. I know this is a really inexpensive beginner uke, but, I'm just giving myself a quick fix until my friend Achi gets time to go uke shopping for me. He has been playing for years and years and offered to go and find me a mid-level uke with as sweet a sound as he could get. So, I totally went little with my uke purchase because I'm planning on spending around $200 or more for my actual good uke that Achi will help me find.