My 15 minute review of the German RISA electric ukulele stick

PeteyHoudini

Hey Gang,

I finally did a review of the German RISA ukulele solid stick (soprano). I know that uke's been kicking around for a number of years now but it's such an interesting beast that I had to tame it with a review. There are so many things to discuss about such a uke and I decided to take it on. I hope my comments will give you some insight into this headless electric and silent uke—the headless horseman of ukes!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cQ5Qp2PGXl0

I also give a quick sound comparison with two mini amplifiers: the Fender Deluxe and the HoneyTone.

All in all, it's a very fun uke. #1 advantage: best meant for silent practice in my books. It's a 9/10 for me.

Petey

NewMexicoKid

Thank you very much for the review. I'm new to ukulele's but have been considering buying a Risa Uke-Solid tenor based on the information in this forum and on youtube (I've been collecting and organizing links to keep track of the information).

Your review was helpful, especially with the comparison of mini amps (I had been leaning towards the Honeytone because it appears to be the least expensive usable amp; but I confess I liked the sound of your Fender better). And as I am wanting to learn how to play the ukulele but also want to avoid bothering my family with the learning pains, I think this uke fits the bills.

The only big question for me is where to order it. It looks like there are three options (for folks in the US):
1. go to the source at ukulele.de (which looks like the least expensive option but the slowest--they are currently projecting July as the date of availability)
2. Ukulele Pua Pua in Hawaii--three day priority mail
3. www.ukuleleworld.com in Texas--slightly more expensive but in my timezone.

Thanks

Olarte

Nice review. I love my risa sticks. Like you said, I too would never get rid of them.

coolkayaker1