Nail filing convert?

Sporky

Reaction score
Here is a recent discovery for me that may be of interest?
I always carry my tiny Victorinox Classic knife and a few years ago I stopped using nail 'clippers' altogether. I think that the tiny scissors are great for cutting nails.
I've never used a proper nail file before, and when my nails get a splinter/start catching on clothing, I cringe and pull out my Classic and do a little touch up, use the tiny nail file a bit.
Googling this I saw Brad Bordessa's video on shaping nails with a glass file and decided to give it a go. I ordered a Mont Bleu file from Amazon. Apparently many cheap ones use a 'spray' grit on top of glass which wears off, but these are true etched glass. The result has been great and I don't want to be without in the future. My nails have not caught on anything/splintered in the 3 weeks since I got it. No need to use scissors even really, the glass file is enough to keep them at the desired length.
I'm still experimenting with right hand nail shape but keeping them super short and smooth on my fretting fingers has been A++.

A few years back I became aware that nail length was an issue for Uke players. Basically they need to be near zero length in the fretting hand and nicely shaped on the strumming / plucking hand - level with finger tips seems about right. I started using a traditional metal nail file and now I use emery type boards ... it feels an unnatural thing for a guy to be doing but maybe I’m too old fashioned.

I’m told that the glass files are the way to go but they’re not cheap, I’m tight fisted and emery boards aren’t expensive. Who’d have thought it, nail care matters when you play a Uke.

Edit. Maybe the prices have changed over the last couple of years? A visit to eBay brings up many glass nail files that are ‘dirt cheap’ but quite what will arrive I’m not so sure of.

Last edited:
I'm a convert too.