Question About Holding Strapless

tm3

Reaction score
I've always been intrigued by players who hold the uke strapless and whale away on it as I don't understand how they do it without turning the uke into a projectile.

Yesterday I read a tip on how to do it. Anchor the butt (base?) of the uke on the bicep, lay the forearm on the soundboard under the strings, and strum where the fingers rest over the neck.

Sure enough, this seems to give the most stable strapless hold that I've tried. But here is my question. In this position, my index finger is around the 6th fret. If the fretting hand goes up the neck we are going to have a collision. So do you bend the wrist 90 degrees to get the strumming finger closer to where the neck meets the body? That feels like an awfully cramped position for finger picking, for those who graduate to that level.

I'm no expert but here's my method... Most of my support comes from the spot between the thumb and the index finger of my fretting hand. I also use my inner right wrist (almost half-way to my elbow) very lightly against the bottom of the uke body just to give the body something to rest on.

A good quality ukulele banjo is heavy, much heavier than a wooden uke. The pros who play banjulele regularly never use a strap.

I'm no expert but here's my method... Most of my support comes from the spot between the thumb and the index finger of my fretting hand. I also use my inner right wrist (almost half-way to my elbow) very lightly against the bottom of the uke body just to give the body something to rest on.

A good quality ukulele banjo is heavy, much heavier than a wooden uke. The pros who play banjulele regularly never use a strap.

Thanks for the comments. James Hill also talks about resting the neck on the L hand at the base of the index finger; I do that some, but find that I can't fret some chords from that position especially if I keep my thumb on the back of the neck as I've been instructed.