Question re Ukulele Boot Camp?

tm3

Reaction score
I've started on UBC as it looks like a good foundation to develop. As a beginner, I don't want to start out with any bad habits so I hope that I can get a question answered.

Part of the instruction says: The challenge/goal is to ‘play’ through each Practice Sheet (left to right, top to bottom) at a steady tempo without looking at your fingers or interrupting your strumming.

My question regards the part I bolded. One of the things I have read about practicing is "don't let yourself make mistakes -- practicing mistakes is the worst thing that you can do." If I follow this mantra, I look at my fingers and fretboard, try to get the position exactly right, and then strum -- hopefully producing a properly sounding chord. If I try to fret a chord without looking, I may "miss" a bit as far as position or maybe miss a lot like the wrong string or the wrong fret -- thus producing the wrong sound when I strum ie a mistake.

So I seem to have a Catch-22 here: I can make the mistake of forming the chord wrong while doing the proper thing of not looking, or I can form the chord correctly while making the mistake of looking.

Maybe the "not looking" mistakes will iron out with practice, but again I'm concerned about starting off correctly.

What to do?

You should also "bold" The challenge/goal as something to aspire to and not to expect to be successful at right away. After a year, I look a my fretting hand frequently. Other professionals I have observed do look at their hand occasionally.

Don't stress about it if you have to make adjustments. Boot Camp pushes you in practice sheet #1. After a year of playing, the four finger chords on that sheet are still not easy.