Questions re starting UBass ......

tm3

Reaction score
I've been playing the uke for a little over 6 months now and am really enjoying it. Recently, I've started seriously considering trying the UBass because 1) My uke group does not have a bass player, 2) I think that bass may be more amenable to playing my favorite type of music (classic rock), and 3) It seems like it would be a lot of fun.

I've got some questions that hopefully the group can help me answer.

1) I would not want to give up the uke, so I'm not sure how adding in another instrument would fit. Would I need to double up on my practice time, half uke and half bass? Or do they complement each other some how? Do most UBass players abandon the uke?

2) I wasn't sure if I would like the uke so I went with a sub $100 starter instrument. With a UBass I think I would like to start with something higher end. Would that be the Kala UBass?

3) I've frequently heard the recommendation that one should buy a uke from a specialty uke dealer to get proper setup and quality control. Does the same advice apply to a UBass? Which dealers are recommended as sources for UBass?

Thanks for the help and any recommendations!

Good questions and I'm sure our resident u-bass expert, kohanmike, will be along shortly

There is no reason to abandon the uke. I think they do complement each other though the tuning and approach are very different.

Kala is certainly the most common brand and are generally well regarded though there are several levels within the lineup.

Great question about the specialty dealer. I am adamant about that for ukes, especially on the lower end of the market, as a good setup makes a huge difference. With U-bass, Kala at least, I'm not sure it's as important. But I'm curious to hear what others say about that.

Thanks, Jim! I'd probably ditch the idea if I thought it was an either/or choice (uke or UBass).