Thicknessing Saddles and Nuts (and other small pieces)

olgoat52

Way back when I worked in a shop we had a little ramp contraption that was mounted under the bottom roller of a vertical belt sander that we used to thickness saddles and nuts, bracing material and make the curved ears on Martin style bridges.

I don't have a vertical belt sander anymore and wonder what others use to accurately thickness small items like saddles and nuts.

I have seen the rig from Stewmac that uses the drill press. Expensive but it looks like it might do the job.

A promax thickness sanders is another nuclear device to kill a rabbit in this case.

Any other ideas. I'm sure Timbuck has some awesomely clever rig to do the job that could not be duplicated by mere mortals. :)

Thanks
Tim

Moore Bettah Ukuleles

My Perforxmax drum sander can handle pretty small pieces, anything over 5" or so such as head stock veneers. I thickness sand all of my bone nut and saddle material on the drum sander as well. In that case it is stuck onto a board with some double backed tape.

olgoat52

My Perforxmax drum sander can handle pretty small pieces, anything over 5" or so such as head stock veneers. I thickness sand all of my bone nut and saddle material on the drum sander as well. In that case it is stuck onto a board with some double backed tape.

Hey Chuck. I meant Performax, not Promax. Great machine and if/when I move from fixing to building it will be a must have.

Allen

I do nuts and saddles on my Jet drum sander as well. Made up a jig to hold the pieces. Nothing more than a board with a very shallow fence on it to keep things in place while they rung through.

Timbuck

I use the double sided tape as well with the drum sander usually stuck to some plexiglass.....For saddle height I use a spare bridge glued to a flat board, I put the saddle in the slot and run it thro' the sander.

olgoat52