Thoughts on free living?!

Theblackegg

Reaction score
Long story short I’m converting a box trailer to live in. With the variable temperatures in UK and my love for solid body ukuleles other than the obvious, hardcases, cabinet, humidifiers etc heating will be minimal and considered about the longevity of my wooden off spring.

Anyone live in a similar situation and learnt any tips and tricks along the way for a minimal, stoic lifestyle whilst keeping their beloveds safe at least to the end of our natural lives? 🤷‍♂️

I spent 2005-2017 living in a narrowboat, so I have some experience of ukuleles and being a traveller.

Ukuleles are much less fragile than you think they are. A decent hard case is all you need in the UK, unless the uke is made with hide glue in which case you need to be careful in the summer. It is not unheard of for ukes to come apart in their cases if they get too hot. Happened to me with a Harmony I bought from a certain auction site once.

Most people that are converting vehicles to live in don't realise that the biggest problem is keeping things cool in the summer rather than warm in the winter.

Oh yeah, and make sure there's enough airflow. It could save your life if you have a burner or cooking appliance in the vehicle and it stops things going mouldy.

Other than that, happy adventures! It's a great life if you go into it for the right reasons, but don't think you'll want to do it forever, Or even that it's free living.

Last edited:
I concur that the heat is the worst enemy. Low humidity is normally not a problem, you'll probably have high humidity, which is less a problem(at least for instruments)
A gigbag or case is good as you then avoid sudden temp changes.

You can also have a space somewhere on the floor, without insulation to the bottom but insulated against your living space. That will give you the lowest temperature(under the trailer) when hot outside.