Uke buzz when lifting fingers - speed makes it worse what am i doing wrong?

rob_dixon

Reaction score
Hello,
As you can see and hear in this video, (i tried my best to capture it) when I try to change chords, even if i get the chord 100% right, as i lift my fingers or place them down again on the new chord, I get buzzing. This is actually worse on my high end Uke, so its definitely "user error" as we like to say at work.

The faster i try to chord change, the worse it gets. The buzz is clearly from the strings against the frets as i move around. But i do not hear this when others play.
I am very new to this, but I seem to not be improving on this so need help. Note this is the same issue i first posted about in here a few weeks back as I immediately became worse with the new fancy pants uke i bought.

I want to nip this in the bud before i pick up worse habits and make it my 100% focus to resolve.

Last edited:
Move your fingers closer to the frets. You're fretting in the middle right now, on those dots. Wrong place, slide the fretting finger down more. The dots are only a guide, not where you actually put your fingers. Also, try to hold your uke more vertically and not turn the fretboard to you. It's putting your wrist and fingers in a more twisted position than they need to be. I know when you start you think you need to see the fretboard, but it will actually hinder you in playing well.

Agree with Cadia.
I get a terrible buzz if my fingers are not in the right place. Get as close to the frets as you can and hopefully that solves it :)

Agree with Cadia.
I get a terrible buzz if my fingers are not in the right place. Get as close to the frets as you can and hopefully that solves it :)