How to: Rehab a damaged surface...

WebParrot (s2)

Wisconsin, U.S.A.
UU VIP
Reaction score
Purchased a "B-Stock" Ohana CK 50G (Cedar top, Redwood back and sides). It's a gloss finish and has some finish problems. Described by seller as having a scratchy finish with a few tiny finish bubbles.

As a furniture woodworker I'd use 0000 steel wool with some wax to try to buff out a lightly scratched surface. Just wondering how others might have tired to brighten the surface of their 'well worn' uke surfaces.

No pics yet. Awaiting delivery. FWIW, scratches don't go deep to the solid wood surface. (I'm assured.)

My local guitar tech says if nothing wrong with sound, leave it. Uku is not furniture, check sound first.

My local guitar tech says if nothing wrong with sound, leave it. Uku is not furniture, check sound first.

Unfortunately for your guitar tech I own the 50G and not her/him :) If I want to refresh the surface I don't need permission. If there are substantive cautions or warnings, those would be helpful and beneficial.
Checking the sound "first" doesn't make sense, unless you're implying that a 're-finishing' of the surface would affect the sound.
The finishing techniques for ukulele are very similar to that of fine furniture. While you're statement "Uku is not furniture... is obvious, it adds nothing to this conversation or my inquiry. :)

Without knowing what the finish is, it is hard to make good recommendations. However, since it is gloss I will make the (not necessarily correct) assumption that this is a film finish.

I might start with some rottenstone and some water as a lubricant and try rubbing out some of the finish. Rottenstone should leave a pretty glossy finish which means that it may not be coarse enough to get out your scratches and bubbles. Then again, it may be all that you need.

If that wasn't enough, I might progress to a fine pumice.