Grain filling problem

DMP

Reaction score
I’m trying to finish my rosewood tenor with shellac, but first I need to fill the grain. Problem is, I can’t remove the sawdust that’s filled the grain after sanding. It’s lighter in color than the rosewood itself and doesn’t look good. I plan to use Aqua Coat, but before I apply that, how do I get that sawdust out of the wood grain? Thanks for any suggestions. I’ve never used rosewood before, so this is a new problem for me.

What I do: Take a strong shop vac and really suck that stuff out. Carefully so as to not scratch or mar the wood. Then I wipe down with spirits (I use denatured ethanol but many use naphtha if you can get it which I can't because I live in California). This also takes some of that rosewood sap out which can color your filling compound.

Vacuum or compressed air.

If you use any type of solvent like alcohol or accetone you have to be extremely careful as Rosewood color will bleed like you will not believe into anything lighter coloured, like purfligs, bindings, spruce. You've been warned.

I would try your Aqua Coat on a scrap bit with some some of the same saw dust in the pores that you have on the body. It may wet that out and become far darker than when it's dry. This will happen if you use CA as a pore filler, as well as some other fillers.

Rosewood color will bleed like you will not believe into anything lighter coloured, like purfligs, bindings, spruce. You've been warned.