Teaching the Writing of Lyrics

Joko

Reaction score
I'm an English teacher who's putting together some lessons for an informal music class, a jam club, really.

2music%2Bclub.png

Attached is the beginning of a lesson plan for an activity which is meant to teach the very basics of writing lyrics. I haven't finished it yet because I think it's too long already. I want to include a practice part where they get to write a song.

I'm looking for advice about advice. If you were asked about how to write lyrics, what are some of things you would include?

I was going to post the lesson plan here, but this 19 KB limit is ridiculous. I put it on google drive. Feel free to add whatever you'd like to the document directly.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1ZXXD9KE2BQrnbahYL0ysS6Jo8x65_ox9

It looks great.

Hello,

Thanks for sharing the lesson plan. The first part is great and I like the way you made the transitions between the types of activity and integrated those into a structured plan. Have you finished it yet? Can it be used for the elementary grade level? I'm a music teacher and I wanted to create additional online courses for my students with domyhomework tasks and creative writing part for song lyrics: based on Kid Pan Alley Music (Lesson One: Pre-writing for Lyrics pdf). I think you may also try the technique of clustering to develop the skills of connecting images and ideas.

Also: from a linguistic point of view, it could be interesting to use an example of a song with an extraordinary text. Like those inspired by "nadsat" (a slang made up by Anthony Burgess in A Clockwork Orange): David Bowie's “Suffragette City”, for example.

Last edited:
Ah that ESL Expat life...