So confused about high/low G

matheda

Reaction score
I purchased a Fender Montecito Ukulele today. The price was good, but the strings were a wreck so I brought it home to try it out since the store has a lenient return policy. It is a tenor size, so I picked up some Aquila New Nylgut "Tenor Reg" (10 U) strings. I replaced all of the strings, and I ended up with low G tuning. I checked some of the reviews on the ukulele (should have done this ahead of time, but it was an impulse buy), and it does in fact come setup for low G.

My understanding was that you could switch back and forth between low and high G just by switching out the string. However, I think the 10 U strings are high G, so I don't understand how I ended up in low G.

I am very new to this, so I am probably missing something obvious. Can someone please help me understand what is going on here?

10U strings are for regular tuning or re-entrant tuning. If you still have the packaging look at the packaging and you should find a little table which has a colour and a note. The Aquila strings have a colour dipped on one end. Then you match the colour to the open string note.
If you have lost the packaging, then look at the strings and work out which is the fattest and which is the skinniest and then line them up in order of fatness. You have possible put the fattest string in the wrong place. This is how they should look:
Skinniest - Open E string
Fattest - Open C string
2nd Fattest - Open E strin
2nd skinniest - Open High G string
Hopefully you have not trimmed the strings yet. You can take them off and start again and it wont make a lot of difference to the strings.

Yes, I just installed a set today of Aquila tenor strings today. The color code is on one end of each string, hopefully you haven't cut that off already. My packaging says:

G = White
C = Green
E = Blue
A = Red