Bad tone = double wound string?

jeffnboise

Reaction score
I'm a beginner. I'm looking for an upgrade to the cheapo tenor I started on. Problem is...every uku I've tried in the stores have one (or more) 'dead strings". At least to MY ears. A friend of mine (guitar person) said strings that are trimmed too long and doubled onto themselves on the tuning pegs can cause the tone issues I keep hearing. Fact or Fiction? tia

I first though you meant wound strings like in guitar 3 bass strings or a low G string in uke.

But about the tuner pegs way of tying them, what ever way you do and if it holds the tuning, it should be ok. New strings of course always creep, no matter which way they are tied up.
What you friend maybe was talking about is: If you change tuning, bad tie job can maybe prolong until the strings are settled or some stupid jumps in tuning experienced :)

C string is so thick compared to its length, that it usually causes problems. That and also the fundamental frequences of the box combined.
I don't like thick strings in general and recommend fluorocarbons over the seemingly popular Aquila nylguts. Thinner strings are also much more friendlier to fingertips.

When changing new strings to your current ones, try not leave the slack too much, so when tightened up you can make the last winding be the most bottom one on a tuning peg. If you start with too much slack, then what you told can happen.
I'm too lazy to get a picture, but you search one of changing strings :)

I first though you meant wound strings like in guitar 3 bass strings or a low G string in uke.

But about the tuner pegs way of tying them, what ever way you do and if it holds the tuning, it should be ok. New strings of course always creep, no matter which way they are tied up.
What you friend maybe was talking about is: If you change tuning, bad tie job can maybe prolong until the strings are settled or some stupid jumps in tuning experienced :)