guitarist buying first uke. help?

Whiskey

Reaction score
i borrowed my friend's ukulele for a few days and picked it up really quickly, mostly playing Beruit songs, i want to buy a new one. i'm looking to spend in the area of 50 bucks, and i've found a few that look promising:
Kala KA-15S
Lanikai LU-11
Lanikai LU-21

or i was thinking about a Pineapple body:
Lanikai LU-21P
Kala Makala Pineapple

i'm buying off the web so i can't play before purchase. i played what i'm pretty sure was the KA-15S and liked the feel and sound of the mahogany versus another uke i played made of a lighter wood.

am i going in the right direction? i'd be willing to spend a little more if there is a model that is much better quality. i can't spend too much, but i'm a musician and i don't want a toy.
also, is there a tonal difference between standard and pineapple?

thanks for any help. i'm really excited to master a new instrument.

Out of those, I'd go with the Kala, just because in my experience they play well. I have never played a Lanikai, but have heard good things, although maybe not as good as the Kalas. I'd probably take the KA-S, because the pineapple's paint supposedly affects the sound, although I know it still sounds very nice from what I've heard. But I don't think you could really go wrong with any of those. Do you have any way to try them out before buying? I've only played a few pineapples, I haven't heard much of a difference in sound, although I like the shape. There was a thread on pinapples a few weeks back, you may want to search for it.

Last edited:
u should get a lanikai lu21t. its a tenor uke. id reccomend this to u because its closer in size to a guitar. but its 50 dollers more than what your looking for, but its worth the 50 extra dollers.

The pineapple body might give you more volume than the traditional figure 8 shape. My Kala Kiwi is a pineapple shape, and I am very happy with it. I made a video review of it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O6RfRzMW1t0