Kala Ka-T?

thomasnibaker

Reaction score
Hi everyone! This is my first time on this forum so forgive me if I say stupid.

Anyways, I started really getting into ukulele a few months ago, and I borrowed my music teacher's Makala MK-T, and I loved it. Now that I'm on spring break, my family is taking a trip to maui and I had to return the ukulele to my teacher. While i am here, I decided to buy a Kala KA-T for myself. The man at the store said that it was a nice upgrade from the MK-T. I was in a rush, so I didn't really get to look around and try other ones, so I just went with it. After coming back home, I did some research online and a lot of people said the KA-T didn't "sound as good as others in the price range," and stuff like that. I'm starting to worry that I made a wrong choice, and I should have spent a little bit more time choosing one I liked. Since I have only tried out 3 ukuleles, I don't have much experience as to what is good and what isn't. Should I return the KA-T and get something else? If so, what should it be? (In the price range)

Thanks!

Thomas Baker

I bought one for my great nieces to learn on and it is quite loud (It has a relatively deep body). There may be others that are better but where I am, there is not much in the way of options unless you buy on line. If you have them available to play, I would certainly play others to compare for yourself.

Hi Thomas, welcome to the forum. I would say just make sure you get a proper "set-up" so that the strings are not too high / frets are not sharp / etc. And put some good strings on it (everyone has their own opinion on that but usually Aquila's or Worth's or Martin's are good common string choices). In the price range, Kala makes a good solid starter uke. Eventually you'll want more, more, more ukes in other sizes/ other styles though!