Kala U Bass Solid Spruce Top Questions

martinfan

Reaction score
I am looking at the U bass from Kala and note the price difference between mahogany laminate and solid spruce top.

This may appear like a redundant question, but is the solid spruce top...

solid spruce top?

Is is combined with laminates?

I see that some advertise the mahogany laminate as a positive, indicating that it is not subject to the same level of care (humidity) as solid wood, but I am not sure if "solid spruce top" is exclusively solid spruce top...

you know how advertisers are!

Also, must this be purchased (the bass) through one who does a set up? Is this as an important factor as it is in getting a ukulele tenor set up, for example?

Lastly,

I have little experience playing the bass, as a guitarist, and have fiddled with one.

Is fretless less inclined to buzz on the u bass? I think the margin of error would be reduced due to the small size but would prefer to hear an opinion of one experienced, rather than my own speculation.

I intend on practicing on the u bass and becoming decent at it. Thus far, I have used a large acoustic-electric Dean bass for multi track recording and do a plodding simple bass. The recordings are better with it, but I intend on doing some you tube or DVD lessons and actually learning.

Mahogany laminate versus solid spruce top u bass?
Fret versus Fretless?
Set up versus a purchase from Amazon? (no u bass available local)

Thank you!

I own a Kala Hutch Hutchinson U-Bass. The top is solid spruce. So far no weather related issues and we have some very wide swings in relative humidity here in Minnesota.