Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How to prevent uke from slipping?

Default How to prevent uke from slipping?

I play classical guitar and have just started playing the ukulele. I'm finding it much harder to hold than the guitar, which sits firmly on the left knee when using a footstool, and the ukulele keeps slipping. It doesn't help that it is a shiny, painted Makala Dolphin. Consequently, I'm finding that I'm getting an ache in my shoulders and back (at least I'm assuming this is what's causing it as I didn't have it before!) from the effort of keeping it in place, especially when using tabs.

Any advice from anyone would be gratefully received!

Look up how to hold ukulele on the internet. Lots of info (I am not an expert so I am referring you to google!). That being said, I had a hard time holding my Makakla Shark, too, even sitting down. I just got a Mainland Mango Uke and it is easier to hold. Same size uke, shiny surface. Weird.
    Jan >^..^<
    (AKA Chopped Liver)

You say 'Crazy Cat Lady' like it's a bad thing!

"Out of clutter, find simplicity." Albert Einstein

Quote Originally Posted by UkeMania View Post
    Look up how to hold ukulele on the internet. Lots of info (I am not an expert so I am referring you to google!). That being said, I had a hard time holding my Makakla Shark, too, even sitting down. I just got a Mainland Mango Uke and it is easier to hold. Same size uke, shiny surface. Weird.
    Thanks, I've already googled but still finding it slips!
    Perhaps I'll try a strap.

It takes awhile (at least for me) to learn to hold it so it doesn't slip, but I think I'm getting better . . .
    Jan >^..^<
    (AKA Chopped Liver)

You say 'Crazy Cat Lady' like it's a bad thing!

"Out of clutter, find simplicity." Albert Einstein

Quote Originally Posted by Celluke View Post
    Thanks, I've already googled but still finding it slips!
    Perhaps I'll try a strap.