Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Low budget Concert ukulele Kala KA-C or Lanikai LU-21 C?

Default Low budget Concert ukulele Kala KA-C or Lanikai LU-21 C?

Hi! I'm new to the ukulele world and I've been playing the Kala KA-15s, I've come to like the concert ukulele and I've been looking at the KA-C or LU-21, but I'm open to more options. My budget is $120, I'll appreciate all comments!

My first uke was a KA-C. In general, I think it's been a good value. Even though it's laminate, the tone is more than acceptable and I like the satin finish. The build quality was fine. The only regret I have about it is the setup. The intonation needed work on both the nut and the saddle. Without knowing about the value of a good setup, it was bought from a random ebay seller. If I were to do it again, I'd buy it from Mim, or HMS, or ukerepublic or someone else that will take the time to try to set it up better. It looks like Uke Republic has it in gloss, but maybe not satin. I don't see it on Mim's site. I'm sure there are other reputable people who will do a setup, but these are the three people most often recommended by other UU people.

This is a really busy time for everyone, even the people who usually have great customer service. So, it can't hurt to mention that you are buying from them because people on UU praise the extra time spent setting up the uke.

Have fun with your (first) new uke!

If you're mainly interested in the concert scale, I still say the Kala SLNG is the best value out there. Should be $100 or so from any of the fine folks in Rick's post.
    Ukulele:
    Iriguchi Tenor "Weeble" - A, WoU Clarity
    Blue Star 19" baritone Konablaster - DGBE
    Cocobolo 16" SC#1-gCEA, SC SLMU
    Ono #42 19" baritone, Ab, LW
    Imua iET-Bb, M600
    Covered Bridge CLN pineapple - Eb cuatro, SC XLL
    Rogue bari
    Bonanza super tenor, cFAD SC LHU
    Kala KSLNG, Eb SC XLU
    Hanson 5-string tenor, dGCEA
    Bonanza SLN GCEA
    Bonanzalele concert
    Guitars: