To strap or not to strap, that is the question

Larry U

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
I'm somewhat a beginner here (been only playing a few weeks on a cheap concert uke), but I just ordered a nice Kala Micheal Aratani Tenor and was wondering whether to have a strap button installed. I'm OK with hand-holding the concert uke, but even then there are times when I wish I had a little more secure hold on the instrument. With the tenor ukulele being even larger, I'm concerned that it might be even more awkward to hand hold. For an extra $5, I can have a strap button installed by the dealer (HMS/theukulelesite.com). What do you think? Am I devaluing the instrument by installing the button? Is my awkwardness holding the uke just due to my newbieness and will pass? All opinions welcomed :cool:!

IMHO a strap button doesn't devalue a uke unless it is vintage. Most tenors have them. If you plan on playing while standing a strap comes in handy.

Please post some pic when you get it!

You ordered from HMS, right? Call them and ask them to install the strap buttons. Very inexpensive addition.

I'm somewhat a beginner here (been only playing a few weeks on a cheap concert uke), but I just ordered a nice Kala Micheal Aratani Tenor and was wondering whether to have a strap button installed. I'm OK with hand-holding the concert uke, but even then there are times when I wish I had a little more secure hold on the instrument. With the tenor ukulele being even larger, I'm concerned that it might be even more awkward to hand hold. For an extra $5, I can have a strap button installed by the dealer (HMS/theukulelesite.com). What do you think? Am I devaluing the instrument by installing the button? Is my awkwardness holding the uke just due to my newbieness and will pass? All opinions welcomed :cool:!