Singing with ukulele

Nickie

Reaction score
I never gave a rip about singing.....
until I started playing ukulele, and going to jam sessions.
Then one day I decided to rip into imitating Hank Williams (yep).
I was so surprised I could strum and sing simultaneously, I jumped up and danced a little.
I never did like my singing (I dislike my voice).
Then last month I got out the book Irish Songs for Ukulele that had been sitting around for over a year. I watched You Tube videos, practicing singing along, then adding the strum patterns I thought sounded nice. I really enjoy singing them, well the ones that don't sound a dirge.
By golly.....I've decided to sing 2 or 3 of them in Open Mic later on this month. I hope I sing in the right key.
I hope it don't start a food fight.....

I love Irish folk songs! I usually play them on mandolin or tenor banjo, they're great to sing though! I'm not a fan of my singing voice either but Irish folk music is gets me practicing... I did just arrange an instrumental version of The Parting Glass on ukulele which I really like the sound of - no singing involved though ;-)
Which ones are you doing for open mic?

Glad you never gave up and it came together in the end, same happened with me, one day I printed some Bob Dylan songs and found I could sing and play at the same time, it's nice when it works out.

I've been noodling around on uke for a couple years and have yet to get over this hurdle haha, I totally sympathize!! Some advice I was given was to practice strumming patterns while doing other things like watching Netflix so you can get used to multitasking. Obviously it goes without saying that you should master multitasking while doing very simple strumming rhythm (up down up down up down) before agonizing over real strumming patterns

I also at one point was practicing strumming patterns while singing random silly nonsense, I don't know if it helped but was amusing :p