cnc inlay first job routing now...

robinashby

Reaction score
i know you all think cnc is for sissys so for all you sissys out there pict attached.

i am making the kids tea while the router performs a routing job unaided and makes a good job!

1mm router cutter and niceeeeee!

zipper pattern.jpg

this design will be called my zipper! tenor uke with spanish type neck joint.

Last edited:
CNC still requires an imagination, a design, a tool path, and proper setup. There is nothing wrong with that. If you can make art by hand, more power to you. I have admiration for skill in many forms.

ah thank you Gary... it sure takes some working out but once you get the machine and software then possibilities open up design wise. I also bought the router machine flat packed so the joy of putting it together was truely endless! I am actually a jewellery designer and cad modeller for 3-d printing by trade. I thought the cnc would be good to have a go to see the possibilities as the cad side is simple given my background. I thought maybe I d have the tear out problem or that the radius in the corners would make it look rubbish or for the circles on a cheaper range cnc could look a bit wobbly. However I ve attached a close up of the first job that had a few differing tool paths. The cutter was a 1mm so the corner radius is only then 0.5mm so not so bad! The router makes a small like metal would have bur type effect on the surface but once sanded for a second or two comes off cleanly leaving non chipped crisp edges as seen in the picture. On my test parts the male inlay part fits so tightly that you have to position it exactly straight from the top and push it in and has no gaps at all which to a jewellery guy is very satisfying. For this design the uke has darker bocote wood sides I ll inlay the the zipper pattern with bocote then cut the over hang edge off completely so then when attached to the body will I hope its breaks the outer edge up visually so the side wood continues onto