Looking for integrated scales and chords

Alytw

Reaction score
I am pretty new to the Uke, but when playing guitar I have learned the movable chord shapes and mapped the notes around the shape for M,m,dim etc.

For example, if I play a specific inversion of an am chord, I know where notes in the am scale are relative to the chord pattern. This then can be moved to any key. I think of this as one pattern based around a specific chord position.

I find this a good way to be able to improvise and link passages over key changes and it also helps me see where other chords come from.

In an attempt to speed up learning this on the Uke, I was wondering if there are any existing resources available?

If not, I'll create them myself, but I'm hoping something is available.

Thanks

Adam

There is a great deal of free literature on the internet. If you search "ukulele chords images" you'll pull up a hundred or so chord charts to sift through. The set of moveable chords is quite limited compared to the guitar and even more so compared to the mandolin. And, of course, extended chords beyond the 7ths are somewhat intellectual musical fantasy exercise since you only get ( at most ) four notes in a strummed chord not to mention a limited scale. I like the keyboard images that show every note in a given key...usually highlighting the root, 3rd, 5th, and 7th, so you can mix and match those intervals to concoct your own inversions. Sounds like this is more your style and always it's nice to know where the root and the 7th are.

Ukebuddy is a fast, responsive, and thoughtfully-done web site that offers 10 to 20 versions of most chords. There's also a reverse "chord finder" that comes in handy once in a while.

I am pretty new to the Uke, but when playing guitar I have learned the movable chord shapes and mapped the notes around the shape for M,m,dim etc.