So what is the ukulele equivalent of "Smoke on the Water"???

Grapenehi

Reaction score
As I'm eagerly awaiting my first Uke... I was wondering where to start??? What are the first songs everyone learns??? I'm completely new to the instrument, but I'm ready to dive in and engross myself into the ukulele culture...

Last edited:
At the top of the Beginners forum are stickies and in there you will find one called 'Ukulele Resources (Updated).

Take a look at that and the list songbooks, and exercises and all manner of things! Lots of people like Uncle Rods Bootcamp, depending upon where you are in music knowledge there is something for everyone. I recommend Howlin' Hobbits, Howlin' Hobbit – Ukulele Ace particularly his Ukulele Chord Exercises. If you know about chord Key structures already it may be just a refresher, if you're really new,like I was last year it opens a whole new world!

The Songbooks will keep your printer busy for a month. I just downloaded to a flash drive to save the forests.

First song choice is pretty subjective. It either depends on what someone wants to learn, or what the book/course they follow teaches them.