Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Worth Strings Question

Default Worth Strings Question

I have been experimenting with strings a lot since I started playing tenor ukulele a few months back, and I have discovered not only do I like certain strings for my style, but furthermore I tend to prefer different strings on different ukes. I discovered Worth strings by accident, as one of the ukes I bought on here second hand came strung with worth strings. I had been wanting to try them out, but I found the choices to be so many that I didn't really know where to start. Anyway, I noticed that they have some sets that are 63" long. In doing the measurements on my tenors, it seems that I could cut them in half and get two sets for the price of one. Has anyone successfully done this? Why do they sell sets that are 63" long?

Thanks!

kevin

Hi Kevin, yes, that is exactly what they're designed to do - get two sets out of a package. It's also why they're a little pricier. You'll also see that Oasis has taken up this thinking too (doubling up). I'm a big fan of Worth Browns (BM/BT); they're my default go-to string.
    "If a lot of people play the ukulele, the world would be a better place to live."

The Worth strings usually come long enough to make two sets. If you want a start point you could try Brown Medium strngs which are mellow sounding. I have never tried their clear strings but they are claimed to be brighter sounding than the browns. Which you prefer will depend on the individual instrument?

I always thought it'd be nicer if they sold half the length at half the price, so that you don't have to pay for two restringings (or for two ukes) if you only want to try them out (especially since they have so many types). I like the standard tenor Browns (BT), but haven't tried most of the other gauges they offer. (Currently using Thomastik-Infeld CF30 and CF27 and Martin 620s for my tenor low-g setup.)