Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What is Going on Here? What to do?

Default What is Going on Here? What to do?

I'm not a very experienced builder, but I pride myself on making joint seams disappear. I can make them absolutely invisible. Then today I was sanding out a top plate joint and it would not disappear. It was on some new Sitka spruce from a new source and some nice AAA stuff.

What seems to have happened is that the glue (Titebond) seems to have seeped into the wood enough to discolor it along the joint. This is unacceptable to me and basically is some nice spruce ruined. Other than cut the plates apart and start over or use an opaque finish, I am at a loss of what to do. But I'm a bit puzzled why this happened. I've done a bunch of spruce tops and never seen this problem. Second picture is some strong back light.

DSCN7441.jpg DSCN7439.jpg

Hmmm.... I have limited experience with Sitka, but titebond redcap is my go-to glue. I wonder if others have experienced this (or similar) and since headed it off with a whisper of shellac? I'm curious to read the replies.
    Tobin Crooks

Surely it is salvageable in some other project. If not let me know.

Must be something reacting with the glue. Try shooting the outer edge and brushing on some water, then an area with glue, see if there's a colour change.
    I've never had that happen with HHG but it may well be that it contains something that reacts to water based glues.

I had the same thing happen with Sitka and original Titebond, but only once out of dozens of Sitka tops. Threw the top away. Another top that was glued up in the same way and from the same board was OK. Go figure. I have other sets resawn from the same board with a note on them to try a different glue next time.

Ouch, cutting it apart, shooting it again, and sparsely re-gluing is the only way to salvage it. Then, hope the glue doesn't seep across the seam again. Redcap tite bond or hide glue if HHG does it again.