Help with tuning

Carlabelle

Reaction score
Hi all,

My mum brought me a ukulele for Christmas. Complete surprise present and I have no real clue what I'm doing! I havent played an instrument before so I'm a complete newbie to all aspects of this. I'm planning to get some lessons once the new year starts but in the meantime I'm trying to learn a few bits on my own from YouTube etc.

The ukulele I have was tuned A, D, F-sharp, B when I got it but I've noticed most are tuned G, C, E, A so when I try to copy something in a video mine sounds completely different. Is it possible to retune my ukele to this? I've just tried with a tuning app I downloaded but I can't seem to retune the A string to G and wondered if this was because it wasn't possible?

Any advice would be gratefully received!

Thanks,
Carla

Welcome aboard. :)

Sounds like you got a soprano, some people like to tune them up a little to get more tension in the strings, which is what you have.
Basically if it won't down tune, then you will either need to play in that tuning or a likely better solution is to get new strings & tune up to gCEA. :)

I too am new to the Ukulele and have noticed that the G string (no pun intended) is always noted using a lower case "g." Does that mean anything special?

I'm trying to figure out what you are telling us here. You said that when you got it that it was tuned A,D,F#,B. Is that out of the box? Because it does not come in tune out of the box. The other thing is that the G string is at the top when you are holding the ukulele in playing position. The A string is at the bottom. I couldn't tell if you are aware of that, or not. Anyway, keeping all that in mind, when I got my first ukulele I tried to tune it and I got one of the strings an octave high. That is a common mistake. Just because it reads a particular note on your tuner, doesn't mean that it is the right particular note.

Last edited:
You are "D" tuning, a full step above "C" (gcea).