Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Jet 10-20 plus problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Stockport, Cheshire.
    Posts
    367

    Default Jet 10-20 plus problem

    Not had chance to investigate any further yet, but when I came to use my drum sander today, the conveyor belt didn't work. The drum turns fine. When I turn on the conveyor, there is no movement or sound at all coming from the gear motor. I loosened off the belt, in case the tension was too much, but still no luck. The machine is only about a year old and hasn't had a great deal of use. Of course, I can't find the receipt to check if it's still in warranty, I might have to contact Axmister to find out. In the meantime, any ideas? Mike

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Stockport, Cheshire.
    Posts
    367

    Default

    Update:
    Been in touch with Axminster and fortunately they tell me it's still under warranty, and reckon it might be the electronics pcb that's faulty. They are going to send one out to me as I agreed to change it. Fingers crossed. If it solves the problem, because I loosened the belt, I'll probably still have to retrack the belt which apparantly is a real PITA.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Trois-rivieres,Quebec
    Posts
    23

    Default

    There might be a fuse or an overload breaker on that motor. Look for that.
    The fuse could be on the pcb.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Herts, UK
    Posts
    166

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mikeyb2 View Post
    Update:
    Been in touch with Axminster and fortunately they tell me it's still under warranty, and reckon it might be the electronics pcb that's faulty. They are going to send one out to me as I agreed to change it. Fingers crossed. If it solves the problem, because I loosened the belt, I'll probably still have to retrack the belt which apparantly is a real PITA.
    For info on getting the tracking sorted you might find the following thread useful http://forum.ukuleleunderground.com/...on-a-Jet-10-20

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Gippsland, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Is the belt drive motor running?
    When I first ran mine the belt would hesitate with the slightest tension. There is a small drive coupling between the belt drive motor and the belt drive shaft itself. Turned out the screws were loose.
    This was from new and was on a 16-32 which could be different.
    Cheers

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Stockton on Tees..North East UK.
    Posts
    4,923

    Default

    It's usually the rectifiers on the PCB.......or the shaft couplings have come loose..(if this) To fix it align the shaft flats of the gear motor
    and the drive roller and tighten the shaft-coupling setscrew
    Last edited by Timbuck; 01-04-2017 at 09:14 AM.
    http://ukulele-innovation.tripod.com ebay i/d squarepeg_3000 Email timmsken@hotmail.com

    If you can believe that moving images and sound, can fly through empty space across the universe and be seen and heard on a box in your living room ?.. then you can believe in anything.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Stockport, Cheshire.
    Posts
    367

    Default

    Thanks everyone, I'll update the thread when the pcb has arrived and been fitted. Andyk, thanks for the link and Ken's advice on that link. And Ken, I came across an article somewhere which suggested the rectifiers were a common problem, and that the newer boards had larger components. Maybe the original ones are too underpowered. Also, if it was the shaft couplings I would expect some sort of noise or movement from the motor, but it is quiet.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Stockport, Cheshire.
    Posts
    367

    Default

    Just an update to say I received the speed controller pcb/pot from Axminster and replaced the old one yesterday. Fortunately it worked and now I have to keep my eye on the belt tracking after spending an hour or so fiddling about with it. The fact that Axminster stocked these and sent it out so promptly, suggests this is a very common fault, so I'm now wondering how long the new one will last. It looked exactly like the old one, i.e. no obvious component upgrades that I had read about elsewhere. Has anyone else had this problem? Mike

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •