Carbon neck reinforcement

Ukemakinmecrazy

Reaction score
The carbon fiber neck reinforcement rod I bough is about 1/2" wide and fairly thin. How do you install these things? Should it be installed wide side flat to the fretboard attachment surface, or thin side up? Sorry if this is a stupid question. I'm new to this.

The carbon fiber neck reinforcement rod I bough is about 1/2" wide and fairly thin. How do you install these things? Should it be installed wide side flat to the fretboard attachment surface, or thin side up? Sorry if this is a stupid question. I'm new to this.
Narrow side up, (similar to how beams are used). Although it may not be as necessary because nylon-type strings commonly used on smaller ukuleles, present less tension than steel strings. It will make the neck stronger though, just in case, and for extra insurance against neck warpage.

How thin is it? You want to install it like Rrgramps said.....but you might have a problem routing a 1/2" deep channel if its less than 1/4" thick. Most of the small router bits can only cut about 1/4" deep.

1/2" seems like serious over-kill for a ukulele. If its too skinny it won't help with twist or warping much. Maybe skip it or get a different size?

If your spar is oversized:

Screen%20Shot%202017-01-05%20at%203.56.29%20PM_zpsaqtqb8oi.png

Resharpen your plane blade :D

Knowing nothing about neck reinforcement except that I should do it, I bought a length of 0.236" square carbon fiber stock from The Composite Store (California). Now I'm wondering if that is of any value in installing in my tenor uke neck.

What are typical dimensions for reinforcement rod?

Do you install that stuff tight/loose?

Bless, youse!