Hello from San Francisco

daviddecom

Reaction score
I've been playing the ukulele for about four months, after buying a cheap soprano on Amazon for my three-year-old and discovering how much fun it was to play myself.

My musical background is (classical) violin and voice. I briefly tried out the banjo five or so years ago but never got the hang of it---too much of a stretch compared to the violin and too loud to practice at night. The ukulele, though, turns out to be perfect for someone coming from the violin, and it's just as satisfying to play quietly when everyone in the house is asleep.

I've already been bitten by UAS---I quickly got another soprano for myself so my daughter and I can "play" together, and I just got a nice concert for Christmas.

Kudos on fostering such a welcoming, knowledgeable community!

David

Welcome from Santa Clara in the South Bay. You are in luck about your UAS because there is Aloha Warehouse on Buchanan Street which has luthiers available so you can get a proper setup done.

-- Gary

Welcome to UU - you mentioned having a small child and also the night practice options for ukulele. Have you ever combined the two? I found that a softly played ukulele (fingerpicking is great for this) kept my twins from keeping each other wound up and awake.

Also - you mentioned that uke is perfect coming from the violin. If you really want to get crazy with it, Aquila makes a set of strings to tune a concert uke in 5ths (CDGA - viola tuning).

I've thought about playing for bedtime, but, while I enjoy quiet fingerpicking, I haven't really been disciplined enough in my practice to play anything really smoothly, and knowing my daughter, she'd have plenty to say about any stops and starts. Also, since she was the first one in the house to get a ukulele, she still thinks of it as her thing to do---playing for bedtime might get her up out of bed to play, too! Once I have a few pieces under my belt, though ...