Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: The Danger of Playing with Straps

Default The Danger of Playing with Straps

I began to use straps pretty soon after I started playing the ukulele a year ago. The strap stabilizes my ukes, makes finding barre chords easier, and helps me make lots of progress!

But today when I was visiting the local music store and trying to show off some of my progress on all these fascinating ukes, without a strap of course, I was shocked that I've lost all my ability in the playing!!! My left hand can not move as freely as usual, and the song I tried to play has broken in every possible way!!!

Guess now I will just stick to my straps FOREVER, possibly bring one with me when I walk by my local music stores. Playing with strap is really addictive!
    Falling in love with Fingerstyle!
    Makala Dolphin, Kala KA-SLNG, Martin C1K

I don't think you should feel bad about that; think of guitar players.

The only reason people can play a uke strapless is because the instruments are so lightweight. You could retrain yourself if you want to. Thing is, though, you've learned to play without the separate and specialized extra effort of supporting the uke. As small as that effort is, it makes a big difference in everything about your physical interaction with the instrument.

Have you tried playing in a sitting position and supporting the uke on a knee?

Yeah I can't play without a strap either, at least a UkeLeash "half strap", but I greatly prefer the ones with a button. The half strap would not be a bad idea for music store use as it does not require a button (which most new ukes don't have) and can easily go on/off different headstocks.
    Ukulele:
    Iriguchi Tenor "Weeble" - A, WoU Clarity
    Blue Star 19" baritone Konablaster - DGBE
    Cocobolo 16" SC#1-gCEA, SC SLMU
    Ono #42 19" baritone, Ab, LW
    Imua iET-Bb, M600
    Covered Bridge CLN pineapple - Eb cuatro, SC XLL
    Rogue bari
    Bonanza super tenor, cFAD SC LHU